top of page

About

ACP #3.jpg

Hi, and thanks for stopping by my website! My name is Adrienne Palma and I am so excited to share my writing journey with you!
I was born in Staten Island, New York, and grew up in Marlboro, New Jersey.
After graduating from high school, I worked for JCPenney in New York and took college classes at night, first at Brookdale Community College in Lincroft, NJ, then at Fordham University at Lincoln Center in New York.   

It was after tutoring homeless children that I decided to attend graduate school at Georgian Court University in Lakewood, New Jersey. I later attained another graduate degree from East Carolina University in Greenville NC, and my doctorate degree from Fayetteville State University in Fayetteville, NC. As you can tell, I love to learn!!!

I taught at the elementary level in New Jersey for 3 ½ years and then in North Carolina for 4 years.
I was a school administrator at the elementary and secondary level for over 20 years.
My passion has always been to write, so here I am!!!
In 2011, my first children’s book, ROZA SANCHEZ, was published. In 2017, Living the Dream, a stand alone novel, was published. In 2020, my writing journey resumed with Lola the Loggerhead, the first book in the Under the Sea series, and has been going strong ever since.

A huge shout out to my friend and artist extraordinaire, Dawn Van Ness, who has been collaborating with me since the Willie the Red Wolf book. The illustrations are amazing!!! Read about Dawn and check out her gallery of work on her website, adawneveryartist.com

Recently released...

Bella the Black Bear, the second book in the Wildlife series!

Willa the Whale, A Story About Beluga Whales, the sixth book in the Under the Sea series!

My second novel, The Sands of Roanoke Island, was released in September!

I am beyond thankful to Diann Ducharme, author of The Outer Banks Banks House trilogy and Chasing Eternity for her kind words - 

A memory quilt of Manteo, its pieces full of local people, events, landmarks and destinations. Readers of The Sands of Roanoke Island will feel the author’s love of place, a real town where old-fashioned values still ring true—hard work, a commitment to community, and dedication to family and home.

At its heart, a tender love story, but The Sands of Roanoke Island is also an encompassing novel about Outer Banks families and their small-town community that rides the swells of tourism and storms in the distinctive shadow of the Lost Colony. Manteo has never looked lovelier or more heart-warming.

And from Booklife - 

Warm love story of family, friends, and community in the Outer Banks.  ...warm and relatable tale...appealing and resonant...

Oceans of thanks to Angie Tally, owner of The Country Bookshop in Southern Pines, NC for her review  - 

Partly a North Carolina insider travelogue, partly a love story and partly an homage to small town life, The Sands of Roanoke Island is completely one thing: delightful! Fans of Nicholas Sparks and Kristy Woodson Harvey will love this charming new novel from NC author Adrienne Palma.

Oh my goodness, I am so thankful for Angie's kind words!

Pick up a copy at your favorite independent book store, order on Amazon or from my publisher, Yorkshire Publishing.

(contact Laura Denmark: laura.denmark@yorkshirepublishing.com)

Whoa!

 I was interviewed by Kate Delaney, author, and host of America Tonight with Kate Delaney!!! Below is the link to the interview. 

https://soundcloud.com/kated-294710598/adrienne-palma?si=78bb451169ac42b3b1410e8808b408e7&utm_source=clipboard&utm_medium=text&utm_campaign=social_sharing

Researching each book has given me the opportunity to meet many people in the community I otherwise would not have had the chance. Writing has been so much fun, and I am so happy to share these books with you!
When not researching and writing, I love to swim in the sound (because I love the open water!) bicycle ride, and read, of course!

Lola in Slides.png
bottom of page